Commission nominates 9 for 3 court openings

At 6:36 p.m. an email alert came from the Iowa Judicial Branch.  The Judicial Nominating Commission has chosen its nine nominees for the three openings on the Iowa Supreme Court.  The commission began conducting individual interviews with each of the 60 applicants on Monday and concluded those interviews earlier this afternoon.  Read the names of the nine they’ve nominated below.

Commission Names Nominees for Iowa Supreme Court

Des Moines, Iowa, January 27, 2011—After completing public interviews of all 60 applicants, the State Judicial Nominating Commission has selected a slate of nine nominees to fill the vacancies on the Iowa Supreme Court that occurred when the terms of Chief Justice Marsha Ternus, Justice Michael Streit and Justice David Baker ended on December 31, 2010. The nominees are:

Robert James Blink, West Des Moines, Age 60

District Judge (appointed 1995)—Fifth Judicial District

J.D., 1975, Drake University


Arthur E. Gamble, Clive, Age 58

District Judge (appointed 1983), Chief Judge (appointed 1995)—Fifth Judicial District

J.D., 1978, University of Iowa


John C. Gray, Sioux City, Age 56

Attorney—Heidman Law Firm

J.D., 1981, University of Iowa


Steven Verne Lawyer, New Virginia, Age 45

Attorney—Law Firm of Steven V. Lawyer & Associates, PLC

J.D., 1991, Drake University


Edward M. Mansfield, Des Moines, Age 53

Iowa Court of Appeals Judge (appointed 2009)

J.D., 1982, Yale


Michael R. Mullins, Washington, Age 58

District Judge (appointed 2002)—Eighth Judicial District

J.D., 1982, Drake University


 Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Grinnell, Age 37

 Professor of Law, University of Iowa

J.D., 1997, University of Michigan


Thomas Dana Waterman, Pleasant Valley, Age 51

Attorney—Lane & Waterman L.L.P.

J.D., 1984, University of Iowa


Bruce B. Zager, Waterloo, Age 58

District Judge (appointed 1999)—First Judicial District

J.D., 1980, Drake University


Governor Branstad has thirty days in which to make the appointments to the court from this slate of nominees. A summary resume, completed questionnaire and writing samples for each candidate are posted here on the Judicial Branch website.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.