Details on 2010 Inauguration events

Governor-elect Terry Branstad’s transition team has released a few details about the inauguration and related events.  As I recall, Branstad’s previous inaugurations were held at Veteran’s Memorial Auditorium.  His fifth will be held at Hy-Vee Hall in downtown Des Moines, which did not exist in January of 1995.  Read the Branstad team’s news release below:

Gov.-elect Branstad announces inaugural chairs

Service of Dedication to be held on Jan. 13 at St. Ambrose Cathedral in Des Moines; Inaugural to be held at HyVee Hall on Jan. 14

Gov.-elect Terry E. Branstad and Lt. Gov.-elect Kim Reynolds are proud to announce that Bruce Rastetter and Teresa Wahlert will chair their inaugural committee. Additionally, Margaret Hough will serve as inaugural director.
The inaugural committee also announced that there will be a service of dedication the night before the inauguration, on January 13. The service will be held at St. Ambrose Cathedral in Des Moines.

The inauguration will take place on January 14, 2011, at HyVee Hall in downtown Des Moines. Additional information about inaugural events and activities will be released soon. For updates, Iowans are encouraged to visit

“Bruce Rastetter and Teresa Wahlert are two outstanding Iowa business leaders and I am honored to have them chair this inaugural committee,” said Branstad. “They have both made countless contributions to make our state a better place, and their help and leadership in this effort is greatly appreciated.”

More information on Bruce Rastetter and Teresa Wahlert:

Bruce Rastetter of Iowa Falls is an Iowa entrepreneur, founding a small feed management business, and eventually becoming a leader in the pork and renewable fuels industries. He currently manages Hawkeye Energy Holdings, LLC and the diverse Northern Iowa farming operation, Summit Farms. Rastetter is an active philanthropist, supporting many local and state efforts focused on education and entrepreneurship, and serves on a number of agricultural boards.

Teresa Wahlert is a resident of Waukee and a long-time business executive, including work at AT&T and QWEST. In 2003, she served as president and CEO of the Greater Des Moines Partnership. In February 2004, Teresa Wahlert was named President and Chief Operating Officer of Mid-America Group. Wahlert currently serves on a number of civic and business boards, and is a 2004 inductee to the Iowa Business Hall of Fame.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.