“Pott” County Auditor backs incumbent over fellow Republican

The campaign of Secretary of State Michael Mauro emailed a news release this morning, announcing the Republican county auditor in Pottawattamie County (the Council Bluffs area) has endorsed Mauro, a Democrat.  Mauro is being challenged this fall by Republican Matt Schultz, a city councilman from…Council Bluffs.

This endorsement comes after Schultz criticized Mauro last Friday.  Read the Mauro campaign announcement below.

Endorsements include opponent’s own county auditor

DES MOINES – Just two weeks after receiving public endorsements from both Republican and Democratic county auditors, Secretary of State Michael A. Mauro today announced that two additional Republican elected officials have endorsed his reelection campaign including his opponent’s own county auditor. 

Pottawattamie County Auditor Marilyn Jo Drake and Dallas County Auditor Gene Krumm, both Republicans, have officially endorsed Secretary Mauro. 

That brings the total number of endorsements to 45 which include 13 Republicans, 31 Democrats, and one No Party.  The full list of endorsements is included at the end of this release.   

“I’m proud to support Michael Mauro as he seeks a second term as Secretary of State,” Pottawattamie County Auditor Marilyn Jo Drake said.  “Michael Mauro has been a strong and effective partner with county auditors across Iowa.  I encourage all Iowans to vote for him this fall.”

As Iowa’s state commissioner of elections, the Secretary of State works with county auditors and their staff on a daily basis to prepare and administer local, state, and federal elections. 

“I’m happy to report that my campaign continues to earn the support of both Democratic and Republican election officials,” Secretary Mauro said.  “The endorsements I’ve received demonstrate that my administration has worked effectively with both political parties to get things done for the people of Iowa.”   

Secretary Mauro received endorsements from the following auditors:
Nancy Carmichael (D – Adams County)

Lisa Frederiksen (R – Audubon County)

Jill Marlow (D – Benton County)

Grant Veeder (D – Black Hawk County) 

Phil Meier (D – Boone County)

Cindy Gosse (D – Buchanan County)

Holly Fokkena (R – Butler County)

Joan Schettler (D – Carroll County)

Ken Kline (R – Cerro Gordo County)

Joan Knoll (D – Chickasaw County)

Marjorie Pitts (R – Clay County)

Eric Van Lancker (D – Clinton County)

Terri Martens (D – Crawford County)

Gene Krumm (R – Dallas County)

Carol Copeland (D – Des Moines County)

Nancy Reiman (D – Dickinson County)

Denise Dolan (D – Dubuque County)

Michele Erickson (D – Emmet County)

Gloria Carr (No Party – Floyd County)

Joan Kirk (R – Fremont County)

Jane Heun (R – Greene County)

Debra Bellinghausen (R – Hancock County)

Renee McClellan (R – Hardin County)

Susan Bonham (D – Harrison County)

Joell Deppe (D – Jackson County)

Dennis Parrott (D – Jasper County)

Tom Slockett (D – Johnson County)

Amber Garman (D – Kossuth County)

Anne Pedersen (D – Lee County)

Joel Miller (D – Linn County)

Julie Masters (R – Lucas County)

Joan Welch (D – Madison County)

Lowell Tesch (R – Mitchell County)

Brooke Kuhlmann (D – Monona County)

Margene Bunda (D – Pocahontas County)

Jamie Fitzgerald (D – Polk County)

Marilyn Jo Drake (R – Pottawattamie County)

Diana Dawley (D – Poweshiek County)

Marsha Carter (D – Shelby County)

Kelly Spurgeon (D- Wapello County)

Traci VanderLinden (D – Warren County)

Sue Ruble (D – Wayne County)

Carol Messerly (D – Webster County)

Pat Gill (D – Woodbury County)

Kay Clark (R – Worth County)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.