Branstad touts his legislative backers

Earlier this week Republican gubernatorial candidate Rod Roberts announced he’s been endorsed by nine current or former state legislators.  Roberts, who is from Carroll, is currently serving his 10th year in the Iowa House of Representatives.

This afternoon, former Governor Terry Branstad’s 2010 campaign announced Branstad now has the backing of twice as many legislators as Roberts has.  Branstad served 16  years as Iowa governor, from January of 1983 through January of 1999 (the reference below to 1991-1999 is to the legislator’s time of service which coincided with Branstad’s tenure as governor). Read the Branstad news release below.

(URBANDALE, Iowa) – Gov. Terry Branstad today announced the support of two legislators, Sen. Jim Hahn, R-Muscatine, and state Rep. Renee Schulte, R-Cedar Rapids.

“Terry Branstad is the person who can best lead this state through our budget crisis,” said Hahn, who served during Branstad’s term, 1991-1999. “I have seen firsthand his effective, conservative leadership. I look forward to working with him to identify ways to streamline our services.”

Schulte stressed the need for a governor who works with Iowans and comprehends the challenges families face.

“We need a leader who understands the concerns of Iowans, and Governor Branstad is out there, working every day to offer new ideas,” said Schulte. “We need jobs, a responsible state budget and a better educational system. Terry Branstad understands this and is offering meaningful solutions.”

Branstad pledged to work with Hahn and Schulte.

“I welcome the support of Jim and Renee, because it will take all of us working together to lead Iowa’s comeback,” said Branstad. “They are on the legislative front lines every day, and I appreciate their commitment to job creation, fiscal responsibility and to my campaign.”

Hahn and Schulte join Sen. Jerry Behn, R-Boone, Sen. Randy Feenstra, R-Hull , Sen. David Johnson, R-Ocheyeden, Sen. Larry Noble, R-Ankeny, Sen. Pat Ward, R-West Des Moines, Rep. Steve Lukan, R-New Vienna, Rep. Ralph Watts, R-Adel, Rep. Jeff Kaufmann, R-Wilton, Rep. Rich Arnold, R-Russell, Rep. Lance Horbach, R-Tama, Rep. Annette Sweeney, R-Alden, Rep. Henry Rayhons, R-Garner, Rep. Dave Tjepkes, R-Gowrie, Rep. Erik Helland, R-Grimes, Rep. Linda Miller, R-Bettendorf, and Rep. Doug Struyk, R-Council Bluffs.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.