Harkin to Haiti

U.S. Senator Tom Harkin (D-Cumming, Iowa) was a member of a congressional delegation that flew to Haiti today.  Harkin was the only Iowan in the group. Read the news release from Harkin’s office below.

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) traveled to Haiti this morning with a bicameral, bipartisan group of legislators.  Today, the 30th day since January’s earthquake decimated portions of the country, has been designated a day of mourning for the Haitian people. 

“As Americans saw from news coverage, the scope of Haiti’s devastation is beyond words,” Harkin said.  “Our presence is meant to demonstrate our commitment to their recovery efforts, and to pay respect to the millions of Haitians affected by this tragedy on their day of mourning.

“Additionally, this trip gives lawmakers an opportunity to examine firsthand the ongoing reconstruction efforts ahead as Congress considers long-term assistance for Haiti.”

The delegation will visit aid distribution sites and medical facilities, meet with officials from the U.S. military, USAID and humanitarian organizations that are working to help the people of Haiti recover.  The itinerary also includes meetings with Haitian government officials, including President Rene Preval and Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive. 

The following members of Congress are traveling with the delegation:

Speaker Nancy Pelosi
Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA), Chairman of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions Committee                  
Senator Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Senator Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Senator George LeMieux (R-FL)
Congressman John Conyers (D-MI), Chairman, House Judiciary Committee
Congressman Charles Rangel (D-NY), Chairman, House Ways and Means Committee
Congressman James Oberstar (D-MN), Chairman, House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee
Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX)
Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
Congresswoman Donna Christensen (D-V.I.)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.