Special election set for Whitaker seat

Governor Culver is at the National Governors Association meeting, but has been able to issue a proclamation in order to set the date for a special election for a legislative seat.  Read details below.


Election to replace retiring State Representative John Whitaker

DES MOINES – Governor Chet Culver has signed a proclamation setting Tuesday, September 1st, 2009, as the date for the special election in House District 90. The election is to replace State Representative John Whitaker, who announced on Friday that he is stepping down from the Iowa House to become the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Administration Director in Iowa.

“Lieutenant Governor Judge and I want to congratulate Representative Whitaker on his appointment as our state’s director of the Farm Service Agency,” said Governor Culver.  “President Obama, Secretary Vilsack and Senator Harkin made a great choice. John loves Iowa, loves farming, and will be an advocate for Iowa farmers and our rural communities. We will miss him as a member of the Iowa General Assembly. John was a strong and caring voice for the people of House District 90, and we are proud to know him as a public servant and to count him as a friend. While his service will be missed in the State Capitol, we’re glad his commitment and dedication will continue to be at work for our great state.”

Under the Iowa Constitution, when a vacancy occurs in the legislature the Governor must call for a special election within 40 days of the vacancy being announced. House District 90 includes all of Van Buren County, as well as parts of Jefferson and Wapello Counties.

UPDATE:  Here's the Secretary of State's news release on this special election.


DES MOINES – Secretary of State Michael A. Mauro today announced there will be a special election on September 1, 2009, to fill the vacancy in House District 90 created by the resignation of Representative John R. Whitaker. Secretary Mauro said he received a proclamation today from Governor Chet Culver calling for the special election.

House District 90 includes all of Van Buren County, and portions of Jefferson and Wapello counties.

Candidates with either the Democratic or Republican parties will be nominated by a convention of their respective party. Any person interested in running as either a Democrat or Republican should contact their state party.

Those who wish to run for the House Seat, but are unaffiliated with any party, may file nomination papers in the office of the Secretary of State.

Candidates who are affiliated with a non-party political organization may appear on the ballot by either filing nomination papers with the Secretary of State, or by being nominated by their organization’s convention.

The filing deadline for candidate nomination papers is Friday, August 7, 2009 at 5:00 p.m.

Information for candidates, nomination papers, affidavits of candidacy and an election calendar are available at www.sos.state.ia.us, or by calling the Iowa Secretary of State’s office at 515-281-0145.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.