New leader for Republicans in Iowa Senate

The Republicans in the Iowa Senate met privately today and elected their leadership for the next two years. Senator Paul McKinley, a Republican from Chariton, was chosen to lead Senate Republicans.  He replaces Senator Ron Wieck of Sioux City who had been the Senate GOP Leader and who sought re-election today.  House GOP members selected a new leader last week — Rep. Kraig Paulsen of Hiawatha rather than long-time House GOP Leader Christopher Rants of Sioux City who had sought re-election to the post.

UPDATE:  a news release has been issued by Senate Republican staff.  Read it below.

DES MOINES – Today Senate Republicans caucused to vote upon new leadership and Senator Paul McKinley (R-Chariton) will serve as the Senate Minority Leader for the next two years.  Also chosen for the Senate Republican’s leadership team were Steve Kettering (R-Lake View) as Minority Whip and Pat Ward, (R-West Des Moines), Brad Zaun (R-Urbandale), Nancy Boettger (R-Harlan), and David Johnson (R-Ocheyedan) as assistant leaders.

McKinley was first elected in 2000 and has served on the Senate Education, Local Government and Veterans Affairs Committees.  A businessman and manufacturer by trade, McKinley has worked to bring taxation relief to business owners as well as education standards to the public school system in Iowa. 

“I look forward to working to leading the Senate Republicans and working on legislation that lowers taxes, shrinks government, and finds ways to decrease spending unlike the Democrat-sponsored bills that have left this state with a $500 million deficit,” stated McKinley.

Senate Republicans will focus on being a spending watchdog for the state, retaining Iowa’s pro-business economy, as well as provide tax relief and advocate for smaller government.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.