Opening on Iowa Court of Appeals

A news release issued this morning shows 33 Iowans have submitted applications for the opening on the Iowa Court of Appeals.  Many are district court judges. The release, after the jump.

Des Moines, July 1, 2008— Thirty-three Iowans have applied with the State Judicial Nominating Commission to fill the vacancy on the Iowa Court of Appeals that will occur when Judge Van Zimmer retires September 4, 2008. 

The nominating commission will meet on July 14 to interview the applicants.  Immediately following the interviews, the commission will select a slate of three nominees from the group of applicants.  The commission will submit the slate of nominees to the governor, who makes the appointment to the court. 

The commission welcomes written comments from the public about the qualifications of any of the applicants.  Comments must be submitted to the State Court Administrator, who serves as the commission secretary, by July 11.  The address of the State Court Administrator’s office is:   

State Court Administration

Attn:  State Judicial Nominating Commission

Iowa Judicial Branch Building

1111 East Court Avenue

Des Moines, IA   50319

The applicants for the court are:

Romonda D. Belcher Ford, Des Moines, Age 40

Prosecutor/Assistant Polk County Attorney

J.D., 1995, Drake University

Carolyn Jeanne Beyer, Iowa City, Age 56

Attorney—White & Johnson, P.C., Cedar Rapids

J.D., 1977, Marquette University

Thomas Bice, Fort Dodge, Age, 61 

Attorney—Johnson, Erb, Bice, Kramer, Good, Mulholland & Cochrane, P.L.C.

J.D., 1972 Drake University

Thomas Nelson Bower, Cedar Falls, Age 47

District Judge (appointed 1995)—First Judicial District

J.D., 1987, Drake University

William L. Brauch, Des Moines, Age: 52

Special Assistant Attorney General, Director-Consumer Protection Division, Iowa Attorney General’s Office

J.D., 1987,  University of Iowa

Mark D. Cleve, Davenport, Age 52

District Judge (appointed 1998)—Seventh Judicial District

J.D., 1981, University of Iowa

David Ray Danilson, Boone, Age 53

District Judge (appointed 1997)—Second Judicial District

J.D., 1979, Creighton University

George F. Davison, Jr., Des Moines, Age 57

Attorney—Davison Law

J.D., 1979, Drake University

Richard H. Doyle, Des Moines, Age 58

Attorney—Galligan, Doyle, Reid & Galligan, P.C.

J.D., 1976, Drake University

David M. Erickson, West Des Moines, Age 54

Attorney—Davis, Brown, Koehn, Shors & Roberts, P.C.

J.D., 1978, Drake University

Michael E. Gabor, Algona, Age 44

Attorney—Buchanan, Bibler, Buchanan & Gabor

J.D., 1991, Drake University

Michael R. Hoffmann, Clive, Age 60

Attorney—Hoffmann Law Firm, PC

J.D., 1972, Drake University; LL.M., 1973, George Washington University

Bruce Kempkes, Earlham, Age 52

Assistant Attorney General

J.D., 1980, University of Iowa

Mark O. Lambert, Polk City, Age 47          

Administrative Law Judge—Iowa Department of Inspections & Appeals                  

J.D., 1995, University of Iowa

Edward M. Mansfield, Des Moines, Age 51

Attorney—Belin Lamson McCormick Zumbach Flynn, P.C.

J.D., 1982, Yale

Gary D. McKenrick, Low Moor, Age 51

District Judge (appointed 1999)—Seventh Judicial District

J.D., 1982, University of Iowa

Raymond C. Meyer, Chariton, Age 49

Attorney—Meyer Law Office

J.D., 1984, University of Iowa

Michael L. Mock, West Des Moines, Age 38

Attorney—Bradshaw, Fowler, Proctor & Fairgrave, P.C.

J.D., 1995, Drake University

Jeffrey A. Neary, Merrill, Age 49

District Judge (appointed 2003)—Third  Judicial District

J.D., 1987, University of South Dakota

Timothy O’Grady, Council Bluffs, Age 52

District Judge (appointed 1995)—Fourth Judicial District

J.D., 1980, Creighton University

William J. Pattinson, Ames, Age, 58

District Judge (appointed 1994)—Second Judicial District

J.D., 1977, University of Iowa

Ronald R. Pohlman, Earlhan, Age 45

Deputy Workers’ Compensation Commissioner

J.D., 1988, Drake University

Amanda Pierce Potterfield, Tiffin, Age 60

District Judge (appointed 2001)—Sixth Judicial District

J.D., 1974, George Washington National Law Center

Elisabeth S. Reynoldson, Osceola, Age 40

Assistant Iowa Attorney General

J.D., 1992, University of Iowa

Kim M. Riley, Marshalltown, Age 45

District Associate Judge (appointed 2000)—Second Judicial District

J.D. 1988, University of South Dakota

Karen A. Romano, Johnston, Age 46

District Judge (appointed 2001)—Fifth Judicial District

J.D., 1986, University of Iowa

James D. Scott, Rock Valley, Age 56

District Judge (appointed 1994)—Third Judicial District

J.D., 1976, University of South Dakota

Brenton D. Soderstrom, West Des Moines, Age: 44

Attorney—Brown,  Winick, Graves, Gross, Baskerville and Schoenebaum, P.L.C.

J.D., 1989, University of Iowa

Mary E. Tabor, Des Moines, Age 45

Assistant Attorney General

J.D., 1991, University of Iowa

Frank Cal Tenuta, Sioux City, Age 48

Managing Attorney, Iowa Legal Aid

J.D., 1985, University of Minnesota

Karen L. Thalacker, Waverly, Age 42

Attorney—Gallagher, Langlas and Gallagher, P.C.

J.D., 1991, Drake University

Janece Valentine, Fort Dodge, Age 41

Attorney—Valentine Law Office, P.C.

J.D., 1992, University of Iowa

Bruce Burton Zager, Waterloo, Age 55

District Judge (appointed 1999)—First Judicial District

J.D., 1980, Drake University

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.