Iowa Democrats headed to Denver

The Iowa Democratic Party this afternoon released a list of its delegates to the Democratic National Conention in Denver August 25-28, 2008.  The list is below.  Of note:  the state party chairman had the authority to name the final "super" delegate from Iowa, and he chose Mari Culver, wife of Governor Chet Culver.  Mari Culver publicly endorsed John Edwards on December 17, 2007 — shortly before the Iowa Caucuses.  She was in the crowd at Obama’s May 20, 2008 rally in Des Moines (her husband was out of town).

From the Iowa Democratic Party:

Iowa Democrats will be represented by 57 delegates and 8 alternates.  The delegation includes 7 delegates under the age of 25 and a diverse group of Iowans from all across the state.  The Iowa delegation will be chaired by Iowa Democratic Party Chairman Scott Brennan. 

At-Large Delegates
Jan Bauer of Ames
Faith Nalani Bromwich of North Liberty
Mary Campos of Des Moines
Catherine Crist of Cedar Rapids
Sandra Lee Galer of Cedar Rapids
Robert (RJ) Jarvis of Oskaloosa
Paula Martinez of Carlisle
Michelle Ray-Michalec of Cedar Rapids
Carlie Tartakov of Ames
Tammy Wetjen-Kesterson of Marengo

District Level Delegates
Nancy Bobo of Des Moines
Timothy Bottaro of Sioux City
Stephanie Cosgrove of Cherokee
Machelle Crum of Newton
Eddie Diaz of Perry
George Dixon of DeWitt
Angel Gonzalez of Iowa City
Molly Grady of Marshalltown
Tom Harrington of Ames
Danny Homan of Des Moines
Stephanie Imhoff of Ames
Joe Judge of Albia
Jacob Krapfl of New Vienna
Kathleen Krehbiel of Solon
Wayne Laufenberg of St Donatus
Helen McClain of Dubuque
Helen Miller of Fort Dodge
Richard Myers of Iowa City
Jordan Oster of Des Moines
Sandra Pope of Ottumwa
Arlene Prather-O’Kane of Cedar Falls
David Redlawsk of Iowa City
Alan Schroeder of Chester
Ione Shadduck of West Des Moines
Donald Shaffer of Ottumwa
Kathleen Weber of Dubuque
Peggy Whitworth of Cedar Rapids
Jason Winter of Sibley
Merci Wolff of Sioux City

Party Leaders and Elected Official Delegates
Des Moines Mayor Frank Cownie
State Representative Ro Foege
Lieutenant Governor Patty Judge
Attorney General Tom Miller
Governor Tom Vilsack
Former First Lady Christie Vilsack

Congressman Leonard Boswell
Congressman Bruce Braley
Scott Brennan, Iowa Democratic Party Chair
Governor Chet Culver
First Lady Mari Culver
Treasurer Mike Fitzgerald
Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal
Senator Tom Harkin
Congressman Dave Loebsack
Richard Machacek, DNC Member
Sandy Opstvedt, DNC Member
Sarah Swisher, Iowa Democratic Party Vice-Chair

Tod Bowman of Maquoketa
Steve Chasse of Des Moines
Bill Gluba of Davenport
Steven Kraus of Carroll
Ebony Luensman of Marion
June Owens of Norwalk
Allyson Story of Cedar Rapids
Caroline Marsha Wildin of LuVerne

National Convention Standing Committee Members

Rules Committee
Ray Brown of Des Moines
Luann Pedrick of Urbandale
Credentials Committee
Cheryl Fasano of Des Moines
Evan Anderson of Cedar Rapids
Platform Committee
John Norris of Des Moines

Kathy Carlson of Kalona

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.


  1. Faith Nalani Bromwich says

    Mahalo (thank you) for posting the results of our Iowa State Democratic Party Convention.
    I am one of 57 delegates going to Denver in support of Barack Obama.
    I like Obama was born and raised in Hawai’i. We share many moments in our lives that many do not.
    Our ethics and morals, began in Hawai’i. With compassion and the “aloha spirit” we have a commitment to helping others.
    I am the Chair and Founding Member of Economics and Human Rights of All Peoples and we believe as Obama does that, one voice can make a difference for many.
    So as I am today a “National Delegate At Large” representing all Iowans and my peoples of Hawai’i, in support of Barack Obama, I step forward to making a difference for all peoples with “one voice.”