Iowa GOP briefing on Straw Poll details

Chuck Laudner, the executive director of the Iowa Republican Party, held a briefing for the news media this morning, reviewing the details of the upcoming Straw Poll in Ames.  Here’s the Radio Iowa story.

Voting will begin at 10 a.m. and conclude at 6 p.m.  Results announcement promised at 7 p.m. Eight candidates (as of today) are scheduled to speak in Hilton Colesium, starting at 12:45 p.m.  Each will be given 15 minutes on stage.  That is to include any videos, music, star and/or family appearances beside the candidate and the candidate’s speech.  The microphone will be cut off at 15 minutes and the lights in the hall will go dark.

The speaking order:  Mitt Romney, Tom Tancredo, John Cox, Ron Paul, Mike Huckabee, Duncan Hunter, Tommy Thompson & Sam Brownback.

The Straw Poll Ballot:  Sam Brownback, John Cox, Rudy Giuliani, Mike Huckabee, Duncan Hunter, John McCain, Ron Paul, Mitt Romney, Tom Tancredo, Fred Thompson & Tommy Thompson.

More later. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.