Iowa Democrats’ “cattle call” in June

The Iowa Democratic Party will be holding its own banquet is a month and a half.  Two of the three candidates who lead in Iowa polls will be there, but Obama’s not going to be there.  It’ll be Clinton, Edwards — and Dodd.  I would expect all the Democratic candidates have reserved their Saturday for the Jefferson-Jackson Day Dinner in the fall, however.  Read the news release after the jump:

DES MOINES, IA – The Iowa Democratic Party today announced that Senator Hillary Clinton, Senator Chris Dodd and Senator John Edwards will attend the 2007 Hall of Fame Awards Dinner in Iowa. The Hall of Fame Awards Dinner will be held on June 2, 2007 in Cedar Rapids, IA at the Five Seasons Crowne Plaza Hotel. 

“The Iowa Democratic Party is looking forward to the Hall of Fame with great anticipation,” said Scott Brennan, Iowa Democratic Party State Chair. “It is obvious that Hillary Clinton, Chris Dodd and John Edwards take the First in the Nation Iowa Caucuses very seriously and their attendance at the Hall of Fame is a sure sign of the importance of Iowa in selecting a Democratic Presidential nominee.”

“The Hall of Fame Awards Dinner also allows us to honor the grassroots leaders and Party activists who are committed to the success of the Iowa Democratic Party,” continued Brennan.

The Iowa Hall of Fame Awards Dinner is the first opportunity to see the Democratic Presidential candidates on the same stage in Iowa. The Dinner is also the second largest gathering of the year of influential Democrats from across Iowa. Topped only in size by the Jefferson Jackson Dinner, being held this year on November 10 in Des Moines, the Hall of Fame is an annual event celebrating Party activists, supporters and the successes of the Democratic Party in Iowa.

The Iowa Democratic Party will release ticket information in the near future. A list of winners of the 2007 Hall of Fame Awards will be released this coming Monday.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
About O.Kay Henderson

O. Kay Henderson is the news director of Radio Iowa.